About the Board of Supervisors

About the Board | Carol T. Earnhardt | Jim Hancock | Diane Holst | Brinson L. Kinzer | Tom Sunderbruch

Left to RIght: Jim Hancock, Diane Holst, Tom Sunderbruch, Carol T. Earnhardt, and Brinson L. Kinzer.

The Board of Supervisors meets bi-weekly in the Board Room of the Scott County Administrative Center. Committee of the Whole Meetings are held on every other Tuesday at 8:00 a.m. and regular Board meetings are held the following Thursday evenings at 5:00 p.m. (starting July 1, 2013)

Scott County is governed and administered by a five member Board of Supervisors. The Board of Supervisors are elected in staggered, four year terms on a partisan basis.

County Home Rule, which was approved in a State-wide referendum in 1978, broadened the power of the Board of Supervisors. Home Rule allows counties to determine their local affairs and government provided that it is consistent with and not expressly prohibited by the Iowa General Assembly. The duties of the Board are primarily administrative; however, it also exercises various executive, legislative, and judicial powers. Some of the functions of the board include levying taxes for the purpose of raising revenue for the County, adopting a budget, appointing Board and Commission members, approving licenses and zoning, and acting as a policy-making body for the County.

Scott County
Board of Supervisors

Scott County Administrative Center
600 W. 4th St.
Davenport, Iowa 52801-1030
(563) 326-8749
Fax: (563) 328-3285